The Rainsworth Legacy 2.4: An Empty Homestretch

Who else is super excited for RE3? RE2 was such an experience!

Also, I realize that in the previous update, while I was talking about Persona 4, I inadvertently outed myself as an idiot because I thought 2008 was less than a decade ago. I perpetually think it’s still around 2012 or something…

This might be a slightly more lengthy chapter because surprise, surprise, it’s the last one for second generation! That was very fast, I know! I thought of cutting it in half but then I’d have two short chapters, which isn’t bad – I see people doing it all the time. But by the time I realized that, I was already almost done and I really didn’t want to have to erase all this and move it to another entry. So…uh, that’s my excuse for why this entry seems so long.

Last time on the Rainsworth Legacy…

Jasmine had her birthday and turned into the only child in the family with a functioning brain cell. Penelope and Emma show that occult sims aren’t necessarily better by almost missing school and being generally kind of boring. Justina and Trista celebrate Justina growing older by going on a date night. Gertrude also has a birthday, and becomes a very pissy-faced little brat, although I do admit her imaginary friend Snoozy is a little bit of a clingy boy. The family enjoys the last of autumn by going to the fall festival, and then the twins become a pair of teens.

And on with the show!


Hi, Holt! Back from the grave again? He’s really enjoying his time out – he does everything from making snowmen to making the sink jump up and down. Oriana’s much more tame, and spends almost all her appearances relaxing in the rocking chair. It’s like he’s making up for lost time.


Penelope and Emma are BFF’s, so of course they immediately roll wants to give each other presents.

Penelope: Here you go! A homemade bistro box we made on that field trip. *snort* Remember when you mistook sugar for salt, and you made the restaurant’s entire pot of chicken soup taste absolutely vile?
Emma: Hee hee, yeah! Mr. Wolff was pissed. Good times. Thanks so much~ Makes me feel bad that I just gave you that ugly picture I drew.
Penelope: It was nice! You should upload it to SimviantArt.
Trista: D’aww, my girls getting along.


Penelope’s neatly worked herself into the teen drama web at the local Community School. It’s not as impressive a feat as you might think, considering there actually aren’t that many kids at the school anymore :T

Penelope: Oh my STARS, tell me more! How can he like all your Simstagram posts when he’s clearly dating that Bunch girl? Talk about a player.

Hey, no one said teen drama is interesting, but Penelope feels like a true amateur sleuth.


I just wish Penelope would focus a little more on the festival, since that’s why we’re here! Jasmine here has the right idea.


And so does Justina.


And Gertrude…as well?

Gertrude: This is my friend Grim. He is my friend and I love him almost as much as Snoozy.

Huh. Okay. Well, you do you.


Like her twin, Emma doesn’t seem to actually understand the concept of ‘having fun at a festival’.

Emma: I am having fun! The cold helps me focus on trigonometry.


I cut out quite a bit of pictures because they weren’t very good, but rest assured the entire family (including the twins) had a good time at the festival. Which is good, because the festival was meant to double as Jasmine’s birthday party!


Yes, yes, toot toot. Also maybe one day I will remember to silence cellphones for everyone so they don’t make my picture ugly :(



Here’s teen!Jasmine. She grew up into that horrid three moon llama t-shirt and so I’m keeping it on her. She seems the type to wear it unironically while claiming it’s just a joke. She developed the frugal trait, just like Trista.


Jasmine: School’s gonna suck, huh?
Penelope: Don’t let Emma hear you say that.


Emma didn’t, because she was off doing something else. But even if she had been there, I doubt she would’ve noticed anything since she’s always nose-deep in a book.

Justina: Emma, dear, don’t you want to tell me about how things are going with you lately? Any interesting people at school you’re friends with?
Emma:
Justina: Er, any boy troubles?
Emma:
Justina: *sigh*


Oh, hey! A tragic clown snowman. I rarely see these guys in my game so I actually forgot these exist. Who birthed this masterpiece?


Jasmine: NYEHEHEHEHE!!!

Ah. I shouldn’t have been surprised, really.


Emma never wants to do anything interesting when she’s home. It’s constant ‘I want to read’ or ‘I want to improve on skills’ with her, so why not use her ample free time for something useful? She’s the first teen to properly learn how to drive a car this generation.


The other kids really wanted to go to the fall festival again so I indulged them.

Jasmine: Ugh, gross! My stupid tuna filet caught on fire. Is this even the proper way to cook fish over a campfire? I feel like I’ll just end up with a cooked outside and a raw inside.


Penelope: Do you seriously have to spend the entire evening whining? You whined about the filet when I bought it for you at the supermarket. You whined about the weather, even though you’re the one who came out in a t-shirt. Just give it to Gertrude if you don’t want to eat it. Leave me alone to enjoy my ‘mallows in peace.
Jasmine: Hmph. Hey, Gertrude! Come here, I made some gourmet fish for you.
Gertrude: You know I can hear both you guys loud and clear from here, right? I’m not taking your failed science experiment.


The girls eventually went home but they sure left their mark. I don’t know about Alec, but I personally would think twice about getting close to this odd-looking campsite.


If you’re so offended by the nasty states of the kitchen and the dining room, you know that there’s technically nothing stopping you from just…cleaning it up yourself, right?


Nope, she would much rather just go and make mixed drinks for hours on end. Like, big mood, but still.


Gertrude: We had tons of fun last night at the park without you, you know.
Emma: Wait, what?!
Gertrude: We made snowmen and snow forts. We cooked marshmallows and fish. It was a blast and you missed it all.
Emma: You mean to say while I was getting chewed out by Mom in Mommy’s beat-up old getaway car, you guys were just having fun!? Mom told me Mommy would make you guys do chores for hours and hours!
Gertrude: Well, she lied.


Gertrude: Teehee, I wonder if there are any other people beyond yonder horizon that I can make miserable.

I swear, the only times she doesn’t look either apathetically bored or like she smelled a particularly rotten fish are when she’s actively tormenting someone. Her favorite targets are, surprise surprise, her sisters or Snoozy. So, like, almost everyone in the immediate household. Yet another proof of her being Trista’s daughter, I guess, since Trista also constantly rolls wants to be mean to her co-workers, and sometimes I catch her autonomously being a little bitch to her family.


On her days off, Trista goes around town busking. Her locations are pretty limited, since she can’t stand outside. Today, she chose to do so in the library. Librarians in the Sims world are super nice, because I can tell you if a busker decided to do this right inside my local library, they’d probably be shot on sight.


Speaking of ‘shot on sight’, some sim died of old age right in the middle of Trista’s performance. How inconsiderate! Needless to say, no one gave Trista any money for her performance this day.


Trista: Justice has been done.

Er, thanks? That’s not the real Grim Reaper, but thanks anyway?


Penelope, I can assure you the empty plates don’t care about how much you hate reading.

Penelope: Yuki might!
Yuki:


Penelope finally brings home a teen – August Keith, who is actually a babysitter. It took me a seriously long time to realize that there aren’t as many teens this generation for the girls to be friends with. The maid is a hater because oh noooo, Trista bit someone in public oh noooo Trista the vampire had to consensually drink plasma from her loving wife. THE HORROR THE HORROR.


Penelope: You must be so proud that I invited you to my house. No one has ever seen where I live, you know.
August: Well, your mom is a really famous songwriter, so that’s kind of to be expected. You guys have a really big but normal house. I was kind of expecting like, diamonds all over the place.
Penelope: Feel free to tell all the kids at school that I, Penelope Rainsworth, decided you are worthy of stepping foot inside.
August: Uhhh…I won’t be doing that.

Even with Trista setting the mood back there with her guitar, Penelope isn’t doing too hot. She hasn’t seemed to grasp that rubbing your parent’s fame all over your peers and acting like an over-conceited movie star isn’t exactly “popular” material.


Emma had taken a charisma class earlier that week and was dying to use a charming introduction, as well as learn August’s sign. So, why not kill two birds with one stone? She pounces while Penelope’s off getting some refreshments.


Ohoho, what have we here?

August: I’m pretty glad to see you here actually.
Emma: In my own house?
August: Heh, yeah, I didn’t really think about how dumb that would sound. Guess not all of us can be as sweet-talking as you, Emma.
Emma: You’re the only person to say that. Actually, I’m pretty sure you’re the only person from school that I’ve talked to outside of homework stuff.


August: I always see you in the library with your nose in a book.
Emma: You watch me when I’m in the library?
August: Er, I mean…
Maid: NERD ALERT! NERD ALERT! WEEWOOWEEWOOWEEWOO!!!

Can you not, please? I’m TRYING to get one of the girls a friend and maybe more


Aha, I see what the problem was between August and Penelope. Trista’s music wasn’t meant for friendship, it was actually meant for love.

August: You’re the most beautiful girl in the school and I’ve been waiting since September to say that!
Emma: Whoa!


Who would’ve thought that homely, nerdy little Emma would be the first to be kissed? Certainly not I, and I say that with absolute sincerity. I thought Penelope would’ve been the man-killer in high school and Emma would’ve bloomed in her older years.


Penelope: Hey, we only have plasma juuuUUUHHH??? What’s happening in here!?
Emma: I think my mom bought this for my other mom, but I’m sure they won’t mind if I give these to you, August.
August: They smell delightful!
Penelope: Are you two for serious?!


Penelope: Whatever. Who needs them anyway when I’m as gorgeous as this?

Yeah, you tell yourself, sister.


The whole Emma-and-August-are-a-thing thing was extremely well-timed and actually the main point of why I asked Penelope to invite him over in the first place (albeit, I originally meant for him and Penny to get together…). It’s prom! Of course, Emma and August made goo-goo eyes at each other the whole night. Jasmine got drunk or something off punch and Penelope punched people the entire time. All in all, I think prom was a success.


Obviously, as the only non-teen, Gertrude couldn’t go to prom. Not like she seems to care, though.

Gertrude: I’m not lonely as long as you’re here, Snoozy!
Snoozy:

Snoozy can turn into an Imaginary Friend. He doesn’t have to be stuck in his doll form. However, it seems like Gertrude only likes to interact with him as a doll. She ignores him basically the entire time he’s following her around but as soon as he leaves her alone to rest in his toy form? She’s all over him again.


Once you’re a teen, you won’t be able to do that though! Looks like you’ll have to interact with your Imaginary Friend like a normal sim so ha!


Sorry, but bashing your brains in with the kitchen wall isn’t a solution.


Gertrude’s very pretty! If there’s one thing the girls have going for them, it’s that all of them are a perfect mix of their parents while still looking relatively gorgeous and unique. It kind of makes up for how self-centered and self-absorbed they are this generation. Seriously, besides Penelope’s want to invite August to the prom and Emma’s obsession with August immediately after meeting him, the girls care only about themselves, each other, and their skills/careers. Emma only rolls wants to talk to or kiss August once a blue moon, so she’s just as guilty as her sisters.

By the way, Gertrude is now ambitious.


As the kids grew more and more autonomous, Justina and Trista start stealing more and more quiet moments together. They like to spend their mornings just quietly kissing and dancing in the kitchen. They’re already acting like grandmas.


The twins prefer a more vigorous morning routine that consists primarily of jumping on the trampoline.


Tragedy strikes! Yuki II passed away :(

Justina: Noooo!! Yuki!!
Gertrude: What’s all this now?


Gertrude: Oh, the rat died. Big whoop.

Hey, excuse you, missy, but Yuki has been a valued member of the family since, uh, we bought him from the pet shop! You’ll show him his due respect!


Of course, we can’t justify having a pet cage if we don’t fill it with a pet! Justina had to go out and hunt down this little guy because I was a little tired of choosing from the three default rodents. This is Yuki III the shrew.


Jasmine’s the opposite of Emma. Whereas Emma wanted to goof off a lot during her childhood and then started being more studious in her teenage years, Jasmine only wanted to study and skill in elementary school. As soon as she entered high school, she was all over the gaming console. Even if she isn’t very good at it.

Jasmine: Ugh, hey, no fair! All the computers are teaming up against me! This is human erasure.
Penelope: Jazz, can you keep it down? I’m trying to write my biology paper.


The twins kind of lost interest in painting after they grew up, but that’s okay, because Gertrude just love art. She loves talking about art and going to the art gallery. She’d probably live there if she could.

Gertrude: Ugh, that painting! The colours, the brushstrokes, the motif…everything about it just rubs me the wrong way.

I’m pretty sure whichever family member drew that at art club was only 9 years old…leave it alone, snob.


As soon as I get enough money to do so, I’m going to buy a Bonehilda coffin and fire all these stupid maids. They technically do their jobs because the game cleans up the house autonomously when they leave, but it pisses me off to see them standing around watching Trista play guitar or sneak pictures of them all. Like, there are dishes and laundry to be done! I don’t pay you to stand around!


Emma very rarely rolls wants related to August even while they’re on a date, so I make sure to indulge her whims whenever she decides it’s August Appreciation Hours. They’re disgustingly platonic in their love, though. Like they roll kiss and makeout wants, so it’s not like they see each other as friends, but they still seem to prefer talking and chatting over physical stuff.

Emma: Oh, August~ Why don’t you come sit a little closer to me? I can hardly see you through the steam!
August: I can hear you perfectly fine. Why don’t you regale me again on the difference between macroeconomics and microeconomics?
Emma: You know just what to say!


The girls this generation are all equally interesting (they roll unique enough wants that they’re not all the same) yet boring (again, they don’t care about anyone except themselves) so I decided to choose a favorite based only on looks. To be honest, I actually really like Emma! I think she looks quite unique.


Penelope really likes to do festival stuff. As soon as a new festival rolls into town, she immediately floods her wants with stuff like “Ooh, I want to find a festival egg!” or “Ooh, I want to go snowboarding!” She’s probably the only one of the girls who actively cares about stuff outside of the household.


Gertrude decided that the best way to honour her mother’s own teenage years is to go around booby-trapping the entire house. Well, I do admit Trista didn’t really do much other than harass her family members back then, so it’s not as if Gertrude’s wrong…

Gertrude: Ehehehe…They’ll never ‘twas I who did this…



Jasmine: What the…Oh, Gertie, huh.
Penelope: UGH, I’m going to kill that little bitch! Doesn’t she know how annoying washing out hair dye is!?

Considering Gertrude’s literally the only person in the house who would do this at their age, I’m sure it wasn’t a hard deduction.


It’s Trista’s birthday! Yes, I’m aware it was kind of an awkward segue leading up to this.


Emma and Jasmine: Yaay! Yaaaay!!
Jasmine: Wait, vampires can get old? I thought you guys just stayed sparkly and young forever and ever.


Trista: Ha! Still got it.
Penelope: Oh wow. Mom grew some extra wrinkles.
Gertrude: Wait, what’s happening up here?

Also, I PANICKED when I saw those empty portraits hanging on the wall. I thought I lost my heir portraits only two generations in. But luckily, it corrected itself when I loaded up this save the next day. WHEW. I still wish it was as easy as it was in TS2 to just hang custom pictures in the game :T Even looking at the tutorial of importing custom paintings annoys me to no end.


Snoozy didn’t age up properly with Gertrude again but this time, he never came back. I’m sure there’s a way to do so but honestly, Gertrude didn’t seem very attached to him at all. Maybe it’s for the best he’s stuck in his doll form forever and ever.

Er…I know I made it come across as a negative, but I swear, I meant it as a positive!


When I heard the tell-tale jingle, I could hardly believe it. A robber! If you read my Verlaine Legacy, you might remember that robbers were all over the Verlaines like flies on honey. Considering they got robbed a million times in one generation, I’m pretty stoked that the Rainsworths managed to go almost three generations without seeing one of these guys.



The robbers in this version of Sunset Valley are as daft as the ones in the Verlaines’ version of Sunset Valley. Usually, if the alarm is on, that means to RUN, fool!

Burglar: ARGH, I CAN NEVER GET IT RIGHT!


Trista: So, you’re the one who woke us all up.
Emma: I have school in three hours. How the hell do you expect me to get proper shuteye with all this noise going on? I’m going to hold you personally responsible if I fail my physics exam.
Burglar: Um…

How must it feel being a hapless robber accidentally stealing from the family of big bad vampires? Not very good, I’m guessing.


Maybe it’s the annoyance of being woken up at 4 in the morning, but the peanut gallery sure isn’t excited to watch a policeman and a burglar brawling right in front of them. Annoyingly, this is part of why this generation went by so fast. They all had stupid reactions to things that it made me prioritize just playing the game as opposed to watching them and taking pictures.


To absolutely no one’s surprise, the cop won and saved the day.


I really don’t know if dental hygiene would be my top priority after almost getting robbed but maybe things are different when you’re a big scary vampire. You do you, Penny.


Justina: I contacted the Boss and he gave that low-time robber a piece of his mind. We’re not supposed to be messing up the lives of fellow accomplices.
Trista: It’s so hot whenever I remember you’re a big bad criminal.
Justina: Why don’t I show you just how bad?


It must’ve been some crazy Woohoo because Trista fell right into a dead sleep after and Justina was so pumped she immediately hopped onto the treadmill! Who knew getting your co-workers into trouble was such a natural high?



It’s Love Day! All the single ladies go and have some fun in the park. Did they want to use the kissing booth or find romance? No. They just wanted to find eggs and throw horseshoes.


As the only one with a beau, of course Emma goes on a date. Her nerdy little getup belies her vampire muscles.


Emma: Eee, I love you, August! I’m so glad you’re my boyfriend and that we’re spending Love Day together!


August: Yeah, same here, Ems.

GOD, can you at least TRY to look more enthused about having a date with your girlfriend?! You’re stupid.


As the only two participants, Jasmine and Penelope don’t have much competition in the dance contest. Jasmine won, just because she remembered that she could use her arms rather than just sway her hips.


If you recall, Alec and Brice adopted a little brood of girls after they moved out of the home. The family is pretty close to three of them (Shanda, Shavon, and Jocelyn) but this one, Clara, just despises them. Maybe she hates the fact they’re all vampires. Who knows? She never comes over when invited and I often see her pulling stinkfaces on the family when we run into her in the street.

If you think I care about how a spare’s child feels though, you have another thing coming.


Jasmine: Stop stealing my stars! Why don’t you take any from the AI?!
Emma: Teehee, because the AI can’t sit there and throw a tantrum!
Jasmine: I’m not throwing a tantrum!
Penelope: Ugh, nerds. I’m going to my room. Thanks for dinner, Mom.
Trista: No problem.


Trista: *looks into camera like The Office* You see what I have to deal with? Unsocial children who only care about trophies and arbitrary video game accomplishments. I miss the good old days before video games became such a prevalent feature of the house.
Emma: Mom, who are you talking to?

OK, boomer.


Trista really shouldn’t spend so much energy getting all mad and puffy about her daughters when there’s a perfectly beautiful night sky to look at with her partner. Think about what’s important in life, man.


I’m really not quite sure why when my sims eat anything with ghost chilli, they have to get up before doing the fire animation. It’s quite odd and annoying, because it makes my pictures look real awkward unless I find the perfect angle that blocks out the chair. But even then…


The twins’ birthday is coming up really fast and so in desperation, I send Penelope off to scout the library for guys. I thought this guy was pretty promising until I noticed he’s like, twice her age. Eugh, never mind!


I hate this maid! He doesn’t do anything and it’s driving me crazy!

Maid: I’m waiting for the little blonde vampire to finish eating her pancakes before cleaning up. Wouldn’t be economical to clear the table and then have to come back for that plate.

Uh, hello!? What about cleaning the bathrooms? The laundry? Like, there are tons of other shit to do around the house SDLKFJLKDCJLA



Gertrude receives the dubious distinction of being the first sim in Rainsworth history to use the water slide. I’ve gotten rid of the want to make way for more fulfilling ones, and never managed to get the time to let them play. So, congratulations, Gertrude! Your prize is a wet t-shirt.


Emma: Hey, no fair! How did you use that super move without going into super mode?
Justina: You’ve heard of cheat codes before, haven’t you?
Emma: Ugh! Cheating’s for plebs.
Justina: Well, you’re the one losing, so I guess the real pleb is you.


Feeling pumped from obliterating her daughter in a video game, Justina went to train Trista into a tougher and stronger vampire.

Trista: Ugh, can’t you just have Woohoo or something like a normal sim when you’re getting that carpe diem feeling?
Justina: Up on your feet and PUSH! PUSH!

Unfortunately, since I once again forgot that vampires can’t get fatigued from exercise, the two of them were there for hours and hours until I noticed and cancelled the action. Oops.


Penelope didn’t care at all about the previous two Yuki’s, but for some reason, she just loves Yuki III. She constantly wants to watch him run on his wheel or play with him. I guess we’ll have to find ourselves a Yuki IV if Penelope moves out because she’ll definitely be taking him with her.


Earlier in the update, I mentioned in passing that Emma and Penelope are BFF and that’s not a lie. Except I realized Emma and Jasmine actually get along way better, so Emma decided that her new BFF is Jasmine.

Jasmine: Isn’t Penelope gonna be mad you made that BFF promise with me?
Emma: Psh, Penelope has Yuki now. She won’t care.

Weren’t you able to make multiple BFFs in TS2? I wonder why they changed that for TS3.


Gertrude: Ack, am I the only one without a good friend in the family?! Please, someone like me!


Emma: Ugh, does she have to be so weird?
Penelope: I know, right? I’m almost ashamed when I have to tell people that’s my sad crazy little sister.
Emma: Well, that’s taking it a bit far…



The reason they were all piled outside was because I wanted to let them watch the firework show Justina put on for them. Except I forgot that fireworks don’t look as good during the day so I messed up a little here :(


But whatever! It’s on to the main event! The first of generation 2 is about to become YA and lead in the start of generation 3~


Yes, toot toot, we are all very excited! Gertrude and Justina got stuck at the Front Door Of Doom and were a little late to the festivities.



*TWINKLE TWINKLE*


Here’s Penelope! She’s developed the schmoozer trait and wants to be Living in the Lap of Luxury. To recap, she is a grumpy snob who is almost neurotically neat, and loves to blow smoke up the ass of everyone she meets.


You may have guessed it when I straight up said that Emma’s my favourite of the kids, but she is indeed the heir! She developed the Perfectionist trait and wants to be the CEO of a Mega-Corporation. To recap, Emma is a grumpy yet ambitious workaholic who can’t stand it when things aren’t perfect, and would much prefer the comfort of her home than the outdoors.

To celebrate her heirship, she gets to wave around some sparklers. I hope you’re excited about the next generation, Holt!

Holt: Eh.


This generation was bad, in my opinion, and I do admit that part of it was my fault for not realizing sooner that the town was dreadfully under-populated. The girls couldn’t roll wants to do anything with friends if there weren’t anyone to be friends with!

You can also probably tell I was itching to get this entry done and out so that I could focus on the next generation, too :T Sorry about that!

Leave a comment