The Rainsworth Legacy 3.3: The Monster Mash

Trista’s decorated almost every single Rainsworth update ever since she was a teen, I noticed. Going through my pictures also shows me that I actually used a very similar picture for a teaser twice in a row just because I didn’t even notice. It was one of Trista biting the wrist of some rando – even the angle for both of the teasers were the same! I’m pretty glad none of you guys decided to call me out on that, if anyone noticed LOL. I don’t think I could’ve handled the embarrassment.

By the way, if it looks like I’m ignoring your comments or don’t respond, sorry for that! It turns out I accidentally turned off e-mail notifications for my WordPress so I legitimately never noticed until I go back and re-read entries to make memoirs or synopses.

Last time on the Rainsworth Legacy…

August, Emma’s boyfriend, moved into the house, much to the consternation of an elderly Justina. After a fun little date at the art gallery, August and Emma were engaged, and then they got married in privacy on the beach. Trista, rock star and pride of the family, found herself reduced to Maid 2.0 with her extremely flexible work schedule and lack of hobbies or specialized house skills. She could help Justina out with Haru (who grew up into a big happy horse), just saying…. Emma ended up pregnant and then giving birth to the beginning of the new generation – Leon and Ashley.

And on with the show!


With Justina’s old bones not really allowing her to ride Haru and give her exercise every single day, the chore inevitably falls upon August’s inexperienced shoulders.

August: This isn’t so bad, though. Quit relaxing, if I dare say.
Haru: Hey, is that a puddle I see? Water water water water…
August: Haha, slow down, Haru! You’ve got your own water trough behind you. Stop pulling on the reins, stop pu-


August: Oof! Ha~ru~ you made me fall off, and for what? A stagnant puddle from yesterday’s rainfall? Sheesh.


I can’t remember what position this is, but Emma got herself a promotion, taking her one step closer to CEO and completing her Lifetime Wish. She looks so funny with her goth bracelet and necklace, while dressed like a grandma trying to sell you rainbow sponges on the television.


The toddlers are getting started on their skills, but it looks like Leon’s a little apprehensive about the whole venture. Poor boy :( Trying to teach you how to poop into a potty chair so that you don’t spend all damn day in a stinky soiled diaper :(


Leon: Waaahhh! I pooped into the potty but no one is giving me any attention!!
August: Now, Ashley, can you say ‘papa’? Come on, call me ‘papa’.
Ashley: Wah?
August: Nope, no, don’t copy your brother there. Say ‘papa’.


Ashley: Papa potty?
August: Uh, no.


August: Alright, maybe that’s enough talking time for today. Want to play horsey with me?
Trista: Make sure you’re not letting her play with Haru. I don’t trust her big hooves one bit.
August: How irresponsible do you think I am?
Leon: Iwwesponbable!



The parents are real sweet and doting with the twins – I honestly didn’t expect Emma to care so much about them, especially as she gets closer and closer to fulfilling her lifelong wish. August, of course, as a Nurturing man, is all over the kids all the time.

(Wow, Leon really blends into the nursery wall with the light green ensemble, huh…)


Justina’s idea of watching the toddlers is just going about her day while making sure that the kids don’t accidentally stick a fork into an electrical outlet.

Justina: I know what I’m doing. I raised four kids. Just let me enjoy my retirement in peace.
Ashley: Want baba!
Justina: Your dad’ll be home from wherever he is soon enough, Ash.


Oddly enough, I’m not very comfortable letting only Justina be in charge of the kids right now, considering Ashley managed to escape from the front door and almost right under Haru’s rampaging hooves.

Haru: Ah! A bat-child!
Ashley: ?


There, isn’t this better? You have the food you wanted so bad and you’re safe.

Ashley: Hm…wanted baba but awwight.


Emma was really racking up the promotions around this point in time. Half of StockKitty Ltd. got laid off or something, so there wasn’t much competition.

Emma: Just the way mama likes it!

Okay.



Trista has a soft spot for Leon. He looks just like if she and Justina had a son, and she treats him as if she personally gave birth to the kid.


August practically has to wrestle his son from Grandma Trista and even then, the only way to escape her overbearing presence is by taking Leon on a stroll around the town.

August: Maybe it’s cruel to go outside and take advantage of your grandma’s … condition … but no one can blame me for wanting some alone time with my son, right?
Leon: Cold!


Haru is a Fast horse and Justina’s the only one who knows how to ride her, so it stands to reason that Justina be the one to go and get some racing experience for Haru. My goal with Haru is mainly to test out how to use a horse to make money. I’ve never actually played around with horses much because, as is the problem with Haru, I tend to play on smaller lots and horses are just a little bit too high maintenance for my taste.


*insert generic ‘haha look at the sims messing up basic animations’ joke*


Do you think maybe I’m favouring Leon because I keep posting pictures of him? Nope! I have plenty of Ashley pictures as well! It’s just that Ashley’s usually just seen doing this; whenever it’s her turn to learn how to do a particular skill, there’s something else going on that demands my attention just a bit more. But rest assured, I love the twins equally!



The period after the first pregnancy is always kind of calm in my legacies. The family had to split up into two groups to properly get through the amount of career and celebrity opportunities they accumulated during Toddler Skilling Marathon Of The Decade 2k19. It’s been quite some time since I played this part of the game lol.


As a famous rock star, Trista’s always enjoyed more exposure in her professional life, as opposed to Emma, whose job required her to keep a more sober and collected public persona.

Paparazzi: Won’t you join your mother on stage, Mrs. Rainsworth?
Emma: Oh no, I’m not falling for that trick. You either just take pictures of my Mom making a fool of yourself, or you’re banned from ever entering our club again.
Paparazzi: Sorry to disturb, please just stay here and enjoy your cocktail.


Perhaps worried that the paparazzi would soon make it nigh impossible to enjoy a night out at the club next door, Emma decided to take up mixology on her own.


Emma: Oops! Heh…well, I’m sure the maid can clean this up when he comes in tomorrow morning, right?

Er, I’m not sure if you should let liquid seep into wood…


And also since the maid won’t be around for very long if he keeps insulting August at every chance. What did poor August do that deserved this particular maid’s contempt?



Maid: Boo! Call yourself a man?! How come you’re making the poor elderly lady fix up everything around the house!?

Er, because Justina’s the handiest person in the house right now? And she can also beat up everyone’s ass, so you better watch yourself. As you imagine, I got NRaas to assign a new maid in town since this one keeps insisting on heckling and booing the family during working hours.


I got a notification from SP that Alec Troutman (a.k.a. Trista’s estranged older half-brother) had the Reaper knocking on his door, so Trista made the treacherous trek all the way out under the sun to joke around with him one last time.

Trista: Long time no see, man! Remember when I used to set up booby traps around the house and you fell for them every single time?
Alec: *horrible forced laughter* Oh, yeah. Those were great times.
Trista: C’mon, you can’t still be mad about what happened when we were kids, right? Well, anyway, I was worried I might end up understanding how annoying it is with a prankster under the roof, but none of my daughters turned out that way. Must’ve purged out all the mischief in my genes during those teenage years or something, huh?
Brice (Alec’s husband): Alec, your fake work laugh is as atrocious as ever. Come on, the theatre isn’t going to wait for us all day and I’ve wanted to go see this show since last season.


Er, I didn’t realize how literal SP was being about Alec’s time being short because he passed away that same day. Must’ve been too exciting a show.


August: I know I can’t understand your pain but you’ll always have a shoulder to cry on under this roof. Just say the word, and I’ll lend you mine.


Trista: I’m a married lesbian and you’re married to my daughter.
August: What the hell? I wasn’t trying to hit on you. I was just trying to be sympathetic!
Trista: That’s what all men say.
August: You know what, whatever. I’ll just pretend it’s your grief talking and not vampire brain rot or whatever.


Ashley: WAAAAAAAHHHHHHH!!!

Great going, you two. Your bad vibes and negative energy made the toddler cry.


Never mind, she’s just crying because Leon took her favourite toy. We have other toys and another rabbit toy that looks just like that one.

Ashley: NOOOOO, ONWY WANT DAT WABBIT!


Trista’s mood is pretty much in the pits thanks to a combination of Alec’s death and a few racy rumours about her flying around town. Of course, there’s nothing a bit of dancing can’t fix.

Trista: Justina, come join me! Let’s do the monkey together!
Justina: *sigh* Can’t believe I’m saying this, but I actually miss work. Made me feel like I was part of something bigger, you know? Now, I’m just…old and saggy and boring.
Trista: Stop being such a Debbie Downer and boogie with me!
Justina: … Alright.


Contrary to popular belief, August isn’t unemployed! He’s actually got a job at the fortune teller’s, to make a half-hearted effort at his Master of Mysticism LTW. He might as well be unemployed though, considering the pity salary he gets.


August rolls street art wants at the most inopportune times, which often leads him to make ground murals and the like right out in public (where street art belongs, anyway). Trista won’t be the only one worrying about scandals if he keeps this up.


August: How can my message of mass media brainwashing the public be seen if I’m forced to ~contain my forbidden art~?

Look, just until the other scandals and false rumours in the family blow over, okay? Then you can go desecrate beaches or whatever it is you want to do with your street art.


Both Trista and Justina kept rolling wants to go outside during their little home-dance-date, so they were sent to the Family Fun Centre for a bit of fresh air. Not as if they were particularly glad with my choice of venue.


Unlike her brother, Ashley doesn’t glitch herself into her toys. You see, she’s a special smart girl.



I can’t really think of a caption or anything for this series of pictures. I just think it’s funny how Emma keeps actively wanting to play games with or hang out with her mom, yet she always looks like someone is strong-arming her into doing so. This was your idea, genius.


Speaking of genius ideas, I only planned for Emma to be pregnant once so she could focus on her career. Only, um…she’s advancing through the company at a much faster rate than I ever anticipated. So why not, right? The two of them can have another kid, since August is desperate for more babies to fawn over.


Aw, so cute. Now get up, you guys have work.


The toddlers are generally left to their own devices now that all the toddler skills have been taught and relationships have been maxed. Ashley doesn’t really do much – either cry or hug her stupid rabbit toy. But Leon just loves to play. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him play with the same thing two days in a row.


August: Bye, my sweet pea! I’ll see you after work and hope you show that coffee thief he’s messing with the wrong future CEO!
 Emma: Teehee, thanks, apple pie! And hope you really sell those lies you peddle down at the caravan!
Trista: You two are super weird. Just don’t drag the family name through the mud doing…whatever it is you guys do at work.


It doesn’t even matter that August has a shit job because he’s doing fantastic at home. I vaguely recall installing, like, a self-employed homeowner custom career. I probably should’ve just put August in that, in retrospect, since he’s probably better at cooking and cleaning than he is at telling fake fortunes.


The biggest mystery isn’t why I didn’t think to do so in-game, and it’s more how Emma even managed to be the only one of her sisters in a committed relationship when half the time she’s walking around the house, she’s pulling stupid faces like this.


Considering a vampire’s diet is pretty much plasma juice only, I’d hate to see what their puke looks like…


Emma: Call it a gut feeling, but I think our little romp a few nights left us a little bit of an unexpected souvenir.
August: Stars, I love it when you talk to me like you’re about to propose a new business model to me or something.


Emma was right, of course, because she had her first pregnancy pop the very next day.

Emma: Look, Uncle Griffin, I’m pregnant again!
Griffin: That’s great, Ems, now let me concentrate. I have to beat your mom’s high score.


If you thought it strange and out of the ordinary that Griffin’s under the roof again, you’d be correct! In fact, all of the surviving Rainsworth spares and spawn were invited over for the twins’ birthday! Not everyone showed up, unfortunately, but that’s okay.


The house is so hectic and the routing is so bad that large crowds of people all fighting to share a single space and item usually doesn’t bode well for my save file or my computer, to be honest. Trista actually almost starved because she was blocked from the fridge and kept trying to autonomously eat people food. As if she’s, you know, a person or something. Thankfully Justina’s still around and willing to give her a pick-me-up.


Trista: Mm, still scrumptious even after all these years.
Justina: Urk…I’m definitely not as young as when I first started offering you nutrients. Help me to a chair and get me a slice of cake before I pass out…
Trista: Oh, uh, shoot. August, cut me a slice, will you?
August: Sure, just make sure you don’t get plasma all over the hardwood again. It took me almost an hour to scrub it all out last time.


August: Hey, uh, Teddy, was it? Why don’t you go and join the others in the kitchen? As long as you’re careful, I don’t mind if you drink plasma in there.
Teddy: Uh, no thanks. The smell of human food doesn’t agree with my stomach. Call for me when you guys start up the Mario Party.
August: Sure…(we don’t even have Mario Party, though…)



*sparkle sparkle*

Leon almost gave me a heart attack because he wasn’t aging up properly or on time, and I was like ugh no please don’t glitch. But it was all good. Even if, um, he looks a little bit eldritch right now.


Leon: So this is going to be my new abode, huh…? Not bad, not bad at all. No monsters or even dust bunnies under the bed as far as I can see.


Well, Leon, you’re a Brave boy, aren’t you? So logically speaking, you’d be fine even if there were monsters. Upon aging up into a child, Leon got the Over-Emotional trait.


Emma:
Leon:
Emma: So…how did you like your party?
Leon: It was okay. Kind of weird how Uncle Teddy spent the whole time hanging out in the foyer and hissing at us though.
Emma: Yeah, Uncle Teddy’s kind of weird.


Emma: But on the bright side, you don’t live with Uncle Teddy and look! We got a very cool present for you – an ant farm! I hear they’re all the rage right now with boys your age. Why don’t you play with it and tell me how you feel about the product, as well as any suggestions for improvement.


Leon: Er, thanks. Is your company making ant farms or something?
Emma: Well, we’re thinking of branching out and expanding into other industries, keep our options open. I got the idea from a SimTube video so if you can help me tweak this product so Mommy can get a promotion, I promise I’ll use the promotion bonus to get you whatever you want.
Leon: Even a Switch?
Emma: Whatever you want, darling.


Where’s Ashley, you might be thinking to yourself. After all, you did see her little sparkle sparkle into a child. This is a pretty awful picture, but essentially, she was asleep the whole night as soon as the party broke up!

“Oh, so she got the Heavy Sleeper trait, right? This is a segue into that, isn’t it?” Astute readers might be saying to themselves right about now. How ‘bout you all just let me continue my story, eh? She actually got the Rebellious trait! And of course, I did take a better picture of child Ashley.


Justina: You’re the most beautiful grandma I’ve ever seen in my life.
Trista: And you the most radiant.
Justina: Hard to believe how far we’ve come, huh? Seems like just yesterday that horrible old woman at the matchmaker was texting me that she gave my number to some blonde vampire. Thought she was joking or inhaled too much of her incense.
Trista: Well, she did seem kind of whacked out when I asked her for her services, but if she did set us up as part of her incense-induced fever dream, I’d say the spirits or whatever did an amazing job.


Justina: We never have fun, though. Like, as soon as we got together, it was kids kids kids. And now that our kids have kids, we’re even more trapped at home. I always imagined living out my twilight years in the Bahamas or something, sitting on a cache of stolen Aztec gold or piles and piles or simoleons I got from robbing an art gallery. Comfy suburban grandma life was never in my life plan, to be honest.
Trista: Same here. I’m not sure if I’ll be much fun in the Bahamas. The smell of burning flesh sort of ruins it all.
Justina: We wouldn’t have to be out in the sun. We could just lounge around in the hotel? I wouldn’t mind being a bunch of lazy bums in an air-conditioned room if it means spending more time with you and less time with the kids.



Here is a much better look at Ashley, who still looks very much like Mini-Penelope. How does Emma feel, giving birth to a doppelganger of her twin. Ashley adores August – she always wants to play with him and chat with him. It must be because she senses a kindred rebel spirit in him.



I also adore Ashley quite a bit because she’s the only person in the family who actively rolls wants for Haru. This was something I also wanted when I made the decision to adopt a horse – cute horse girl and horse bonding moments!


Leon: So? What about me? I look like a tough delinquent boy when really all I want to do is study and do some math drills. That’s cute, right?

Yeah, it is, but I see a million different versions of this kind of kid in my game, so it’s a little old yawn at this point! Why don’t you go outside and play with the horse? Maybe I’ll like you a lot more then.

And that’s all for now!


A very odd place to end this but I desperately want to get this update out before the end of January and this update has already surpassed the ~65 JPEGS Per Update Rule I have for myself. I’m hoping to get at the very least three updates per month out now that I’m a month behind on my pictures again. I’ll have to set aside time for playing though, because if I keep working on updates, I’m going to run out of material and that’s not good either eeeee.

Have a nice February~ By the way, my Windows Live Writer is acting up a little bit so I haven’t gone through and edited or revised this update. I’ll do so in the future – my only goal right now is to get this published lol.

Leave a comment